What Polyp?!

I went in for my polyp removal procedure just less than two weeks ago. I took my meds as prescribed leading up to the procedure, didn’t drink fluids or eat for 12.5 hours leading up to my appointment. (The direction was to not eat for 8 hours and not drink for 6; however, due to the timing of my appointment, it ended up being longer as it was already past those timeframes when I woke up in the morning.) My wonderful father drove me into the city for the procedure as my husband was working and I was not allowed to drive after it was completed. I arrived a half hour early as requested and they got me all set up.

The nurse completed all of the pre-removal prep and had me undress my lower half, then sat me in the stirrups. Then I waited – for what felt like an eternity. What a classy way to sit around waiting for someone, lol. I tried to distract myself by listening to the monotonous beeping of the heart rate machine.

Finally, the nurse returned with the Doctor and they started my IV; pumping me full of conscious sedation. I was quite loopy. The procedure itself actually wasn’t too bad, just a little uncomfortable and a few painful twinges. Once he was done, the Doctor informed me that there was no polyp. WHAT?! I had been afraid of this. I sat there in stunned silence, trying to focus my thoughts; however, the meds were making that task rather difficult.

Afterwards, I was brought into recovery for an hour and a half while they replenished my fluids and my loopiness started to subside. When the doctor returned to release me, I asked him about the results. He reiterated that there was no polyp in my uterus and was unable to tell me what two separate Ultrasound Technicians had been seeing. To reassure me, the Doctor brought up the photos of the inside of my uterus and told me to take pictures of the screen to bring to my RE during my follow up.

I was given a prescription for antibiotics and released. The two hour drive home was torture…. I became nauseous about 15 minutes into the drive – right around the time that we were getting onto a major highway that we continued to travel for the next hour and fifteen minutes. Within minutes of getting off the highway, we were able to pull over so I could throw up….Then the pain started. I hadn’t been given the usual pain killer that they prescribe as I am allergic; initially, I had thought that it really hadn’t hurt that bad and I’d be fine. For a few hours I had some pretty severe pain in my uterus. Once I got home, I laid on the couch and used a heating pad to ease the pain until it subsided. I continued to throw up ever half hour until the evening and my husband brought me some deliciously awful fast food to help calm my stomach as it hadn’t been given any food for nearly 19 hours. The next day I felt much better with only some mild cramping.

I waited until the following Monday to follow up with my clinic but work got crazy for a few days and I wasn’t able to call until the Wednesday of last week. I left a message on the answering machine, which informed me that I would receive a return call within 24-48 hours…unfortunately, they are closed Fridays and today is a holiday Monday here. I am hoping to get a call back tomorrow to see if we can proceed with an FET.

I had a bit of. a scare this weekend though – I am still taking BC for the hormone replacement (due to having ovaries that don’t function properly) and for some reason started to bleed. I panicked as I have not yet been given the green light for our FET cycle and couldn’t call the clinic to ask what to do. The last thing I wanted to do was miss this cycle and have to wait another month, since we just waited a month to complete the polyp removal for no polyp. I called in my day 1 just in case – leaving another message on another answering machine. It turns out though that I believe I was just spotting and everything seems to be ok. I did get a call back today from the Day 1 coordinator and she instructed me to follow up with my RE tomorrow when the holiday is over and if it turns out to be more than spotting, we can still move forward on Day 4…so for now I am calmed.

…for now.ed4ae491673209f958560e59083e92fc

Leave a Reply

