Slowly, slowly, slowly….moving a little bit forward

We have been referred to a fertility clinic closer to where we live now. It took a while to get things moving but we have now met with the Doctor there and were very happy with him. Unfortunately, due to the complicated nature of our situation, they are only able to help us with certain aspects of the process and we will need to go to a bigger city to have the actual egg transfer from our donor. The good news is that they believe they can perform most of the monitoring during the process a little closer to home; a necessity for our donor.

During that appointment they sent us for some screening tests, again. I have had these completed multiple times in the past but it has been two years since the last set so they wanted everything to be completed again. Yay.
images
First up was getting a whole vat of blood tests completed for myself and my husband. I officially beat my own blood drawing record – they took FIFTEEN vials of blood; thankfully, I have never had a fear of needles or having my blood taken since I’ve been having it done the majority of my life. Unfortunately, my husband – who is NOT good with needles, also had to have blood tests completed again but they only took seven from him so he survived it.
Next was the dreaded sonohystogram…boo. So far this is my absolutely least favourite test procedure. The saline solution that they inject through a catheter into my uterus hurts. If you ever need to have this test, TAKE THE IBUPROFEN THEY SUGGEST YOU TAKE! Also, something I learned from the first time – DO NOT FORGET TO BRING A PANTYLINER!! Thankfully, it hurt a little less this time and it was conveniently scheduled for the day that we were headed to a cottage for the weekend so I was able to go relax for the rest of the day.
I just got the call yesterday from the Fertility office in the bigger city where they will be completing the transfer. We are looking to book an appointment for sometime next week to go get more information. Our donor will also need to start the screening process to ensure that everything is good on her end of things as well. Hopefully we can get everything set up for a day that she is available to travel all the way to the city. Seems like she is still breastfeeding also, so we are definitely still playing the waiting game as to when we will start this whole process….in the meantime, I’m looking for an additional part time job as I have been doing more research into the cost of everything and I’m starting to have mini heart attacks.
I wonder if I can win the lottery without buying a ticket?
Leave a Reply

